Connect with us


JUST IN: FG Places Travel Ban Over China, UK, US And 11 Other Countries



FG places Travel Ban On 13 Countries

FG places Travel Ban On 13 Countries

FG places Travel Ban: The Federal Government has finally issued a travel ban on high risk countries to avoid the spread of the deadly Coronavirus (COVID-19). The Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha made the announcement at a media briefing on Wednesday.

“This morning, we have found it necessary to brief Nigerians on further measures being taken after an assessment of the global situation. They are as follows:

i. The Federal Government of Nigeria is restricting entry into the country for travellers from the following thirteen (13) countries; China, Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Japan, France, Germany, Norway, the United States of America, the United Kingdom, Netherlands and Switzerland. These are all countries with over 1,000 case domestically;

ii. All persons arriving in Nigeria who might have visited these countries, 14 days prior to such arrival, will be subjected to supervised self-isolation and testing for 14 days;

iii. The Federal Government is temporarily suspending the issuance of all visas on arrival;

iv. The Federal Government is also counseling all Nigerians to cancel or postpone all non-essential travels to these countries; and

v. The Federal Government urges Public Health Authorities of countries with high burden to conduct diligent departure screening of passengers and also endorses this travel advisories to their nationals to postpone travels to Nigeria.

4. These restrictions will come into effect from Saturday, 21st March, 2020 for four (4) weeks subject to review.โ€

Furthermore, the special adviser to the President, Muhammadu Buhari on Digital/New Media, Tolu Ogunlesi took to his Instagram handle to also add some precautions, explaining that the government warns Nigerians against travelling to any of these countries for their own health sake and others.

He listed the countries as follows:

China, Iran, South Korean, Germany, Italy , USA, UK ,Switzerland , Norway, Netherlands, Spain, France and Japan.

He also sent an update that the Presidential Taskforce on the Coronavirus would be making new announcements this morning. This update arrived before the press briefing by Boss Gidahyelda Mustapha.